Interactive Entertainment is Australasia's longest running games and digital entertainment conference. IE2019 marks the 15th anniversary of the conference. IE2019 will be held as satellite conference of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW), organised by the Computing Research and Education Association of Australasia (CORE).  This year, these will be hosted by the Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia.  


Interactive Entertainment has a long history of being a diverse conference that bring together a broad audience of researchers and academics. The conference encourages and pursues deep collaboration and the strength of past events has always been the depth of conversation between people from diverse disciplines. We encourage contributions from fields as diverse as computer science, social science, design, communication, media studies, music, engineering, health and mathematics. Anyone interested in the myriad of technologies and approaches that make up interactive entertainment are encouraged to come along and share your discipline's perspective on interactive entertainment.
Game design theory and practices Games history and culture Interaction design
Dynamic difficulty adjustment Networking models Computer graphics
Game physics Sound design Artificial intelligence
Transmedia User interface design Serious games and gamification
Exergaming Project management in games Virtual/augmented reality
Experimental game design Interactive film Interactive simulation
Animation in games Pervasive games Government policy on games
Procedural content generation Discussions on narrative Data analytics in games
Sociocultural aspects of videogames New media and videogames Games research topics not listed here


Conference: 29 - 31 January 2019
Submissions (Extended): 19 September 2018
Notifications: 15 October 2018
Camera-Ready: 9 November 2018


Interactive Entertainment is a peer reviewed academic conference. All submissions must be original work, not previously published elsewhere, and not currently submitted to any other conference or journal. Submission of a paper should be regarded as an undertaking such that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will attend the conference to present the work.


All submissions are required to use the ACM Standard Proceedings format and conform to the ACM formatting guidelines (


Interactive Entertainment reviews are conducted as a double-blind process. Please Remove author names, and any additional information in the paper that could be used to identify the paper authors.

Page Limits

Full Papers - Between 4 and 10 pages. Short Papers - An extended abstract of no more than 4 pages.

Ready to Submit

Submissions will be through the EasyChair website for the ACSW conference. Please make sure to select "Interactive Entertainment" from the list of submission options.



Program Chairs

Dr. Dale Patterson
Dr. Dale Patterson

Griffith University

    A.Prof. Michael Hitchens
    A.Prof. Michael Hitchens

    Macquarie University

      Dr. William Raffe
      Dr. William Raffe

      University of Technology Sydney

        Committee Members

        All paper & demo submissions will be blind peer reviewed by at least three members of the international program committee below.
        A.Prof Stephen Barrass
        University of Canberra, Australia

        Dr Karen Blackmore
        Newcastle University, Australia
        Prof Daniel Cermak-Sassenrath
        IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
        Dr Dale Patterson
        Griffith University, Australia
        Dr Andrew Ensor
        Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
        Dr Lauren Ferro
        Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
        Dr Gudrun Frommherz
        Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand
        Prof Anders Drachen 
        University of York, UK
        Dr Jaime Garcia
        University of Technology Sydney, Australia
        A.Prof Michael Hitchens
        Macquarie University, Australia
        Dr Paul Inventado
        Carnegie Mellon University, USA
        A.Prof Fabio Zambetta
        RMIT University, Australia
        Dr Martin Masek
        Edith Cowan University, Australia
        Dr Keith Nesbitt
        Newcastle University, Australia
        Prof Andrew Brown
        Griffith University, Australia

        Dr Yusuf Pisan
        University of Washington Bothell, USA
        Dr Shamus Smith
        Newcastle University, Australia
        Dr Malcolm Ryan
        Macquarie University, Australia
        Dr William Raffe
        University of Technology Sydney, Australia
        A.Prof Jose Zagal
        University of Utah, USA
        Simon Demediuk
        RMIT University, Australia