Interactive Entertainment is Australasia's longest running games and digital entertainment conference. IE2020 will be held as satellite conference of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW), organised by the Computing Research and Education Association of Australasia (CORE).  This year, these will be hosted by Swinburne University, Melbourne, Australia.


Interactive Entertainment has a long history of being a diverse conference that bring together a broad audience of researchers and academics. The conference encourages and pursues deep collaboration and the strength of past events has always been the depth of conversation between people from diverse disciplines. We encourage contributions from fields as diverse as computer science, social science, design, communication, media studies, music, engineering, health and mathematics. Anyone interested in the myriad of technologies and approaches that make up interactive entertainment are encouraged to come along and share your discipline's perspective on interactive entertainment.
Game design theory and practices Games history and culture Interaction design
Dynamic difficulty adjustment Networking models Computer graphics
Game physics Sound design Artificial intelligence
Transmedia User interface design Serious games and gamification
Exergaming Project management in games Virtual/augmented reality
Experimental game design Interactive film Interactive simulation
Animation in games Pervasive games Government policy on games
Procedural content generation Discussions on narrative Data analytics in games
Sociocultural aspects of videogames New media and videogames Games research topics not listed here


Conference: 3 - 7 February 2020
Submissions: 13 October 2019 (no extensions)
Notifications: 10 November 2019
Camera-Ready: 15 December 2019


Interactive Entertainment is a peer reviewed academic conference. All submissions must be original work, not previously published elsewhere, and not currently submitted to any other conference or journal. Submission of a paper should be regarded as an undertaking such that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will attend the conference to present the work.


All submissions are required to use the ACM Standard Proceedings format and conform to the ACM formatting guidelines linked below.
ACM Workflow and Templates.


Interactive Entertainment reviews are conducted as a double-blind process. Please Remove author names, and any additional information in the paper that could be used to identify the paper authors.

Page Limits

Full Papers - Between 4 and 10 pages. Short Papers - An extended abstract of no more than 4 pages.

Ready to Submit

Submissions will be through the EasyChair website for the ACSW conference. Please make sure to select "Interactive Entertainment" from the list of submission options.


Program Chairs

A.Prof. Michael Hitchens
A.Prof. Michael Hitchens

Macquarie University

    Dr. William Raffe
    Dr. William Raffe

    University of Technology Sydney

      Dr. Dale Patterson
      Dr. Dale Patterson

      Griffith University

        Simon Demediuk
        Simon Demediuk

        University of York

          Committee Members

          All paper & demo submissions will be blind peer reviewed by at least three members of the international program committee below.
          A.Prof Stephen Barrass
          University of Canberra, Australia

          Dr Karen Blackmore
          Newcastle University, Australia

          Dr Lauren Ferro
          Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

          Daniel Della-Bosca
          Griffith University, Australia

          A.Prof Michael Hitchens
          Macquarie University, Australia

          Dr Jaime Garcia
          University of Technology Sydney, Australia

          Dr Burkhard Wuensche
          University of Auckland, New Zealand

          Dr Robert Ross
          La Trobe University, Australia
          Prof Deborah Richards
          Macquarie University, Australia

          Matt Bray
          SAE Institute, Australia

          Dr Gudrun Frommherz
          Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand

          A.Prof Martin Masek
          Edith Cowan University, Australia

          Prof Andrew Brown
          Griffith University, Australia

          Dr Tomas Trescak
          Western Sydney University, Australia

          Dr Shamus Smith
          Newcastle University, Australia

          Dulakshi Wannigamage
          University of New South Wales, Australia
          Prof Stefan Greuter
          Deakin University, Australia

          Dr Malcolm Ryan
          Macquarie University, Australia

          A.Prof Jose Zagal
          University of Utah, USA

          Dr William Raffe
          University of Technology Sydney, Australia

          Dr Keith Nesbitt
          Newcastle University, Australia

          Simon Demediuk
          University of York, United Kingdom

          Dr Yusuf Pisan
          University of Washington Bothell, USA

          Dr Allan Fowler
          University of Auckland, New Zealand